Home > Scientific Cooperation

ECSSR Signs Scientific Cooperation Agreement with Korea’s National Research Council

His Excellency Dr. Jamal Sanad Al-Suwaidi, Director General of the Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and Research (ECSSR), has signed a scientific and research cooperation agreement with Dr. Han Seung-soo, President of the National Research Council for Economics, Humanities and Social Sciences and its affiliated institutes in the Republic of Korea. Aimed at facilitating scientific cooperation between the two parties, the agreement was signed at a ceremony held at the premises of the ECSSR in Abu Dhabi in the presence of a high-level Korean delegation and the ambassador of the Republic of Korea in the UAE. The two parties agreed to exchange expertise, knowledge and visits and discussed ways and means of enhancing cooperation, either through joint research and studies or conferences, seminars and workshops on issues of common concern.

In a statement on the occasion, H.E. Dr. Jamal Sanad Al-Suwaidi underlined the importance of consolidating scientific cooperation frameworks between research centers in different parts of the world in order to raise the level of research and dissemination and exchange of ideas and opinions among diverse cultures. He drew attention to the fact that strengthening of partnership between research institutions helps develop their capabilities and upgrades their working mechanism. He said that such partnerships bring positive results, mutual benefits and boosts community development programs.

Dr. Al-Suwaidi explained that the objective of this agreement is to establish a framework of cooperation between the two sides. This will be implemented by launching joint initiatives and enhancing research capabilities in the fields of policymaking. This will also involve exchange of expertise, knowledge, academic research, researchers and administrative staff in addition to promoting cooperation among experts on both sides and providing them with adequate training.

Dr. Han Seung-soo extended his sincere thanks and appreciation to Dr. Al-Suwaidi for agreeing to this scientific cooperation. He also thanked Dr. Al-Suwaidi for his persistent efforts toward enhancing cooperation between ECSSR and think-tanks in the Republic of Korea. Dr. Seung-soo added that this agreement reflects the strong relations between Abu Dhabi and Seoul.

There are 23 research institutes affiliated to the National Research Council for Economics, Humanities and Social Sciences of the Republic of Korea. These include: Science and Technology Policy Institute (STEPI), Korea Research Institute for Human Settlements (KRIHS), Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP), Korea Institute for Industrial Economics & Trade (KIET), Korea Energy Economics Institute (KEEI), Korea Information Society Development Institute (KISDI), Korea Institute for National Unification (KINU), Korea Development Institute (KDI), Korean Educational Development Institute (KEDI), Korea Institute for Curriculum and Evaluation (KICE), The Korea Transport Institute (KOTI), Korea Labor Institute (KLI), Korea Rural Economic Institute (KREI), Korea Legislation Research Institute (KLRI), Institute for Health and Social Affairs (KIHASA), Korean Women’s Development Institute (KWDI), Korea Institute of Public Finance (KIPF), Korea Research Institute for Vocational Education & Training (KRIVET), National Youth Policy Institute (NYPI), Korea Maritime Institute (KMI), The Korea Institute of Public Administration (KIPA), Korean Institute of Criminology (KIC), and Korea Environment Institute (KEI).